The Cake Slice: Chocolate Marble Sheet Cake

DSC_0412

If you ever had even the remotest of urges to bake a cake from scratch, THIS is THE CAKE to bake.

Reason #1: All you need is a standard 13 x 9 pan. No fancy round pans, stacking, or balancing act needed.

Reason #2: It’s THAT good. As in, the stuff of dreams. Moist, delicious, marble crumb. Smooth, rich, chocolate buttercream.

Here is the link to the recipe: Chocolate Marble Sheet Cake

DSC_0389

This is THE CAKE that you want to bake for a birthday, an anniversary, a graduation…really any day of the week. Wednesday will do. Yeah…we made it half way through the week. Now, let’s eat cake.

DSC_0393

As I mentioned in last month’s post, I’ve joined a new gym and have embarked on a rigorous daily workout program. Cake has never been further from my mind. As proof: my 25 pound bag of flour has sat lonely in the cupboard, barely seeing the light of day over the past several weeks, only to appear briefly to dispense a cup or two here or there for a batch of pancakes for the kids. In earlier days, I could go through a 25 pound bag in a matter of weeks. On big baking days, I could burn through a good 10 pounds of flour without blinking. Notice my tiny 5 pound bag…isn’t it cute?!?!

DSC_0396

I’ve been on such a good roll with my new cake-less routine and healthy diet, that I almost skipped baking this month’s cake. But then, with only 2 days to spare until the monthly cake reveal, I decided to give the four options a quick look and decided that if I had everything on hand, I’d give it a go.

Boy, am I glad I did.

DSC_0401

This cake. THIS CAKE. I can’t even begin to describe how I feel about this cake. All I can say is that it’s just that good. It’s that good AND it’s easy. I literally mixed up the batter, plopped the white batter in the pan, plopped the chocolate batter on top, and baked it. Once it cooled completely, I whipped up the buttercream, sampled some, plopped it on the cake, sampled some more….it was SO good, and smoothed it with a spatula. And then…well luckily my camera was close because I barely got a picture of the finished cake snapped before I couldn’t resist cutting into it and carving out a huge chunk.

Needless to say, this cake did not last long in our house. Just make it. Trust me.

DSC_0408

Check out what the other Cake Slice Bakers made this month.

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: Chocolate Marble Sheet Cake

  1. Anabel May 20, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    Amy, this cake looks delicious! Your the second baker today that has posted this cake, and it looks like this recipe is a keeper! Lovely! I love when such a simple cake turns out to be so irresistible!

  2. Sandra L. Garth May 20, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    This cake really looks good and I knew it would be way too much temptation for me.

  3. Elle May 20, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    Great cake, great photos, and not lasting long tells it all. One of those recipes to keep!

  4. theninjabaker May 20, 2015 at 11:45 pm

    Mmmmmm. Your cake does look absolutely fantabulous. Now I almost regret not using dark chocolate in my cake =) Your cake is definitely worth getting off the tread mill!

  5. Anne@FromMySweetHeart May 21, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    I agree, Amy….this was definitely worth cheating for! Your cake turned out beautifully!

  6. Baking In Pyjamas May 22, 2015 at 6:52 am

    Amy it’s always good to treat yourself when working out, I can see this cake is one worth treating yourself too! Laura@ Baking in Pyjamas

  7. Emily May 23, 2015 at 2:49 am

    This was my first choice but baked the toasted almond butter cake instead; but with three members baking this.. I might just have a go at it! Yours look fab!

Comments are closed.