The Cake Slice: Luscious Lemon Layer Cake

DSC_0063

Sometimes things just don’t go exactly as planned. So it goes for the March cake. I happened to have all the required ingredients and few spare minutes to knock this out on a recent Saturday. The only thing I didn’t have were three round pans of the same size, which was what the recipe prescribed. Instead, I opted for two layers, and given the results, I’m really glad I did.

DSC_0020

Forging ahead, I used a spatula to spread the batter between the pans, trying as best I could to smooth and level them.

DSC_0022

Into the oven they went, and off I went to some other distraction until the timer buzzed.

DSC_0058

The next sign that something was wrong came as soon as I pulled the pans out of the oven and noticed the layers were flat and dense. Referring back to the recipe, I quickly realized that, in my haste, I had added only 2 tsp of baking powder…not the 2 Tbsp that I should have added. Oops.

DSC_0075
The first sign of unexpected consequences was when I tried to pour the batter into the pans and it did not move. As in…I could literally tip the bowl upside down, and the batter would not fall out.

On to the frosting while the layers cooled. I added a bit too much powdered sugar, resulting in a relatively stiff buttercream, similar to a thick cookie frosting.

That’s when it hit me. This cake wasn’t really a cake, but more like a giant layered cookie. Alas, the layered sugar cookie “cake” with luscious lemon buttercream was born!

DSC_0074

This is my third selection of 2015 as part of The Cake Slice, a group of international baking enthusiasts who get together “virtually” every month to bake cakes from a chosen cookbook. This year, we are in the process of baking our way through The Southern Living Cake Book. Each month we can pick from four selections to make. Take a look at what the other bakers chose to make this month:

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: Luscious Lemon Layer Cake

  1. Elle March 20, 2015 at 12:47 pm

    How creative! An unexpected bonus of creating a new treat, plus a very pretty cake/torte to eat. I’ve done the same thing as far as measuring, but I usually get a disaster…looks like you got a lovely dessert.

  2. Sandra L. Garth March 20, 2015 at 5:39 pm

    A gigantic luscious lemon layer cookie with rich buttercream frosting sounds good to me!

  3. Anne@FromMySweetHeart March 20, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    Amy…sometimes our mishaps in the kitchen turn out the most amazing results! I love your lemon sugar cookie cake! This cake baked a little wonky for me, too. I love your step by step photos! : )

  4. theninjabaker March 21, 2015 at 12:24 am

    The lemon looks luscious either in cookie or cake form, Amy. I’d love to do a finger tip (or 2 or 3) into that lemony frosting!

  5. EmilyC March 21, 2015 at 9:51 am

    You get a cookie with your disasters but I get to eat mine with a spoon! Love your finishing touches to your cookie cake! Looks wonderful!

  6. Baking In Pyjamas March 21, 2015 at 6:15 pm

    Despite the mishaps Amy this month’s bake looks wonderful and full of luscious lemon flavour. How yummy!!

  7. Anabel March 24, 2015 at 9:09 am

    Nothing wrong with a iced lemon cookie! I’m glad things worked out in the end!

Comments are closed.