The Cake Slice: Italian Cream Cake

DSC_0006

Happy New Year! It’s been a frigid start to the new year here in Minnesota with most days below zero and wind chills in the negative 20’s and 30’s. The kiddos are back to school after their two week Christmas break but after just a few days back at school, they received a one day reprieve when schools were closed for a cold day due to air temps of -10 and wind chills of -35.

DSC_0012

Although it’s been incredibly cold, we are hearty here in Minnesota, and it hasn’t put much of a damper on our fun. Over the past few weeks, we’ve bundled up and gotten out for basketball games, a trip to the Mall of America, and even a trip to the Minnesota zoo. It’s amazing how much more active the wild cats are during the winter months, and watching them up close, with the absence of the summertime crowds, provided ample entertainment for all of us.

IMG_4457

Beyond adjusting to the cold weather, I’ve spent lots of time in the kitchen trying out new recipes and refining tried and true ones. I’ve got loads (and I do mean LOADS) of recipes that I’ve clipped from magazines or newspapers over the years in hopes of eventually giving them a try. Well, this year I’ve resolved to actually dive into as many as possible – keeping only the best of the best and ditching the ones that turn out so-so.

Which brings me to the January cake. This month I chose to give the Italian Cream Cake a try. It’s a lovely white cake with a toasted pecan, cream cheese, butter, and powdered sugar buttercream.

DSC_0017

The recipe calls for 5 eggs – separated – with the yolks blended into a butter, shortening and white sugar combo. After that, flour and buttermilk are incorporated alternately. Next, the egg whites are beaten in a separate bowl until stiff peaks form, and then are gently folded into the batter. Finally, shredded coconut is added to the batter. The recipe calls for sweetened shredded coconut, but I used unsweetened, and it turned out fine, as the white sugar in the batter along with the sweet frosting provide plenty of sweetness.

DSC_0016

For the frosting, I toasted the pecans before incorporating into the mixture, and I learned to watch the pecans very closely as my first batch burned in the blink of an eye and I had to start over.

The Verdict: This was a wonderful, moist, tasty cake. I loved the idea of the toasted pecans in the frosting. They added a nice texture and crunch, and I will definitely file this recipe away to make again to take to events. Unfortunately, my chief cake eater in the house – my ten year old son – is allergic to nuts. Fortunately, I was able to tempt my fabulous coworkers into devouring the cake so that it didn’t go to waste!

DSC_0013

If you’d like to see what the other members of my baking club made this month, click here:

Tagged:

9 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: Italian Cream Cake

  1. Anne@FromMySweetHeart January 20, 2015 at 10:16 am

    Amy….your cake is beautiful! I was so tempted to make this. And now I know I definitely must give it a try! Stay warm! : )

  2. Elle Lachman January 20, 2015 at 1:04 pm

    Look how moist your cake is! So beautiful, too, with the frosting dollops to hold the pecan garnish. A winner. Too bad your son couldn’t have any, but I wish I was a co-worker. Lucky folks who got to eat this cake.

  3. theninjabaker January 20, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    Amazing adventures in and out of the kitchen, Amy! Sorry your son missed out on your spectacular cake. But looks like he had fun with the tiger =) And that Mall of America is fun! (I’ve been to the biggest mall in America a few times – always a hoot1)

  4. Sandra L. Garth January 20, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    Beautiful cake and it looks very moist. Here in Michigan it’s been bone chilling cold also, but I’m having my fun inside. Even though I’ve lived here all of my life, the cold temps and I are not good friends!

  5. Anabel January 20, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    I don’t think I could survive that kind of weather Amy! It’s 43 degrees right now where I live, and I feel frozen! I’m tucked into bed and my fingers are frozen! I had to force myself to go grocery shopping yesterday, it was torture!
    Your cake turned out lovely as always! I’m glad you were able to share with co workers, they are always grateful!

  6. Emily January 21, 2015 at 5:40 am

    Amy, this is one delish cake… so gonna have a go at baking this later! Love the extra dollops of cream before topping with the nuts, making it extra yumms!

  7. Laura@Baking In Pyjamas January 22, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    Gosh you must be freezing Amy! It’s hovering around 2C here and I’m so cold! Your cake looks wonderful, there’s no better time to bake than when it’s chilly out.

  8. Rachel @ A Sweet Muddle February 13, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    This looks delicious Amy! I’m sorry for not to have stopped by sooner to see what you made. Can’t wait to see what you’ve chosen for this month’s reveal!

  9. dianaquek February 13, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    HI Amy this is another cake shop display cake!! Gorgeous! I am so sorry I am so late to comment but life has been mad the last month!

Comments are closed.