The Cake Slice: Strawberry Shortcake Layer Cake

DSC_0099

We’re well over half way through our baking year, and we’ve decided to change things up with the Cake Slice Bakers club starting this month. Rather than voting on a single recipe for all members to bake, club members will now have 4 selections each month from which they may choose.

Why the change? Well, some club members have struggled with the selections in this year’s cookbook – myself included – and this switch will allow us to be more creative and to select a cake that not only challenges us but also fits our own personal tastes…no point in baking something that you know ahead of time nobody in your household will eat. And, if my family doesn’t help me eat the cake, then I’m compelled to eat it, because you just can’t let cake go to waste, right?

DSC_0072

So, for May, I let my family vote on the four choices we were given for the month, which included: a cheesecake, a chocolate cake, a pistachio cake, and a white cake with strawberries and whipped cream.

The results were unanimous.

DSC_0091

Carole Walter, author of Great Cakes, calls this recipe Strawberry Gateau. As written, the recipe consists of three separate recipes put together – the first of which is an eggy (5 large eggs!) single layer white genoise cake that is thinly sliced to produce three layers. The layers are then drizzled with a sugar syrup (recipe #2), and then topped with an orange liqueur whipped cream (recipe #3) and sliced strawberries.

To make the genoise batter, eggs and granulated sugar are beaten with a hand mixer in a bowl on top of a simmering saucepan of water. Air is beaten into the batter to add volume without the use of leavening. I tried to get a few photos of this step, but it was no short of an acrobatic event to manage the hand mixer in the bowl suspended above the saucepan let alone juggle – and focus – the camera. After this step, lemon zest and vanilla extract are added to the batter, followed by flour and clarified butter.

DSC_0092

I made the genoise according to the recipe, but divided the batter into two 9” rounds rather than the single 10” round called for in the gateau recipe. Then I simplified things by skipping the syrup and making plain old “whipping cream-vanilla extract-powdered sugar” whipped cream.

Rather than piping the whipped cream, as suggested in the recipe, I just plopped it on and smoothed it with a spatula. Simple.

DSC_0102

Truth be told, I’m not sure how a genoise is supposed to turn out, but mine was a slightly dense sponge that tasted similar to shortcake, so our family dubbed it a strawberry shortcake layer cake.

And in less than 24 hours, the whole cake was devoured…by the whole family!

DSC_0103-001

Want to see what my fellow Cake Slice Bakers made this month? Check out their links here:

Tagged: , , ,

10 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: Strawberry Shortcake Layer Cake

  1. Emily May 20, 2014 at 10:08 am

    Very lovely cake you got there!! I love the idea that we have 4 cake choices to bake from instead of one, and this way we help bring to life more cakes from Ms Walter’s Great Cakes!

  2. elfhaven13 May 20, 2014 at 10:15 am

    I love it! It is so beautiful too! I can’t wait to do next month now!

  3. Paloma May 20, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    Beautiful job Amy! But that’s not news! You always do that! I love that about getting to pick our own cake… our family gets involved in the process! that’s fun! I am so happy everyone loved it! 🙂 Great job!

  4. theninjabaker May 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    Gorgeous, Amy! Call the cake genoise or sponge or anything else, as the verdict proves it was delicious! And your photos certainly make your strawberry shortcake very enticing indeed =)

  5. Laura@Baking In Pyjamas May 20, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    Yum, that looks delicious. I’m so glad you all enjoyed it. My partner took my version of this into work and it was gone by lunch!

  6. Sandra Garth May 20, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    I love how even your layers are. Splitting layers definitely isn’t my favorite thing to do but it wasn’t as bad as I imagined. I’m happy with the new format also and excited for next month!

  7. Anabel May 22, 2014 at 12:08 am

    Strawberry shortcake is always devoured in my home as well! I’m glad everyone enjoyed the cake!

  8. Diana Gale May 23, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    The strawberries and cream looked divine!! I think I will try baking this cake. It certainly looks very pretty!

  9. Felice/All That's Left Are The Crumbs May 25, 2014 at 2:10 am

    Your cake is beautiful, like a ray of strawberry sunshine. At first I was going to make this, but changed my mind at the eleventh hour. I can see I am going to have to go back and try this cake too.

  10. Melanie Stuff May 29, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Your cake looks so good! I too made the strawberry cake and I wish I had done what you did and skipped the liqueur in the whipped cream. I was not a fan. Glad your family enjoyed it so much!

Comments are closed.