Candy Corn Fudge

DSC_0024-001

On a recent cold and drizzly fall day, I was digging through my recipe box searching for my mom’s chili recipe – the perfect comfort food to curl up with while watching the leaves flutter down outside – when, instead, I happened upon her fudge recipe.

Fudge is such a decadent treat, and it makes me think of the holidays. But, why wait until Christmas to make it? I decided to toss in some candy corn to give it an autumn vibe.

DSC_0030-001

We’ve been watching Masterchef Junior at our house, and my oldest son has been thoroughly enthralled by it, so I engaged his help in making the fudge. Unfortunately, stirring the thick, melting chocolate chips proved a bit too difficult for him, so basically he just lent his moral support and taste testing skills.

Oh, and back to the chili…I did find my mom’s recipe…made a few changes and incorporated some of the last remaining chili peppers from my garden to give it a good zing…stay tuned for that recipe coming soon.

DSC_0040

Candy Corn Fudge

2 2/3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
2 cups miniature marshmallows
1 tsp vanilla extract
¼ cup chopped candy corn

Add the chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk to a heavy saucepan, and melt the mixture together over low heat, stirring continuously. This will take a few minutes and requires strong, muscular stirring skills….hang in there. Once melted and smooth, remove from heat. Add the vanilla extract and marshmallows, and stir until marshmallows are incorporated. Spread mixture into a wax paper lined 8 x 8 pan and top with chopped candy corn. Gently press the candy corn bits into the fudge. Chill for a few hours. Then, invert onto a cutting board, peel off wax paper, and slice fudge into small pieces.

Tagged: ,