Announcing: The Cake Slice Bakers

I’ve been tuning up my mixer and stocking up on grotesque amounts of flour, butter, and sugar in preparation for my new adventure which begins today. Words can not express how excited I am to share this announcement. I’ve been in the know for a few months, but have been sworn to secrecy until now, so here goes!

The Cake Slice Bakers

I’ve been invited to join a “secret baking club” called The Cake Slice Bakers. It’s a group of just over 20 bakers that love the thrill of learning together by trying new cake recipes and sharing in our successes and flops. Each year, the club chooses a cake cookbook to bake from for the entire year. One recipe is chosen for each month, and everyone in the club makes the same recipe.

I first learned about the group from one of my favorite cooking bloggers, Monica Holland, from Lick The Bowl Good. Monica has a new cookbook out available on Amazon, and the cover alone will make you want to drool all over your keyboard…

lick the bowl good

So, what’s so SECRET about it? Well, at the beginning of the new baking year….which happens to be today….the new cookbook that we’ll be baking from is revealed (just to the secret bakers)…AND…then the chosen recipe for each month isn’t revealed to the public until the 20th of each month AFTER each baker has baked and photographed the cake. So, on the 20th of each month, each baker reveals the month’s cake by posting an entry on their blog.

I am humbled, awed, excited, and scared all at once to be joining this group of very talented bakers, and I can’t wait to get started. Here’s a sampling of a few cakes I’ve baked so far this year. I’m SO ready to take my baking skills to the next level.

If you’d like to follow along on this adventure, feel free to like “Spin The Meal” on Facebook or subscribe to my blog.

DSC_0012-002

DSC_0035-001

DSC_0035-003

DSC_0113-001

DSC_0186

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Announcing: The Cake Slice Bakers

  1. Diana Gale October 20, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Hi Amy I am a newbie at the cake slice bakers too – looking forward to baking with you!

  2. Paloma October 21, 2013 at 10:50 am

    What a wonderful post! You’ll just fit right in! I can tell from your personality (which shines through everything you write/photograph) and your beautiful cakes definitely will be a great addition to our group! (that popcorn one! SO MUCH FUN! They all are) So… welcome to our group! And thanks for being so discrete πŸ˜‰ … We’ll have fun baking together.

  3. Felice/All That's Left Are The Crumbs October 21, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    So glad that we will be baking together.

  4. Monica h October 21, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Welcome to the group! I’m looking forward to baking with you πŸ™‚

    Your cakes are so cute, especially that popcorn one. fun!

    And thank you for the cookbook plug. I appreciate it!

    ~Monica

  5. Heather October 21, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Welcome to the group! I look forward to seeing your first cake.

Comments are closed.