So many recipes, so little time…

20130929-214942.jpg

If only there were more hours in a day.

Between work and family, there’s not much time left in a day for trying new recipes. But, I still manage to fit cooking into almost every day. It just doesn’t feel right if I don’t. There’s just so many recipes on my ever-growing love to try list.

Here are a few pictures of what I’ve made lately.

Nachos are the new go-to meal in our house. There’s always something left over to use to pull together a batch. Lately, I’ve used extra thin boneless pork chops (family pack from Target…frozen in Ziplocs two per bag for easy meal prep), diced and sautéed, atop a mountain of tortilla chips, shredded cheese, onions, peppers, tomatoes, homemade guacamole, and sour cream.

20130929-215020.jpg

The other day, I was in the mood for cheesesteak, so I found some thinly sliced sandwich steak at Target and a recipe online for philly cheesesteak with garlic mayo. Unfortunately, I forgot to grab a loaf of French bread at the store, so I searched online and found this recipe and decided to try baking my own.

The cheesesteaks, with their molten mozzarella and sautéed mushrooms and peppers, were an ooey, gooey treat. And, the garlic mayo….oh yeah!!!  Super delish.  But, my attempt at making homemade baguettes to serve the cheesesteaks on was a big “concrete” flop. The dough didn’t rise very well, and they baked into hard bricks…oh well.

20130929-215041.jpg

Homemade salsa was next, and BOY was it hot! It’s been a rough growing season this year, and my garden only managed to produce a meager supply of peppers and tomatoes. Nevertheless, I worked with what I had along with a few extra peppers and onions from a coworkers CSA and made some spicy salsa in my food processor. It was very tasty but may need to scale down the peppers a bit on the next batch. No recipe for this one…I simply rough chopped some garlic, chili peppers, jalapeno peppers, and onions and gave them a whir in the food processor with some lemon juice. Then, I rough chopped some tomatoes and bell pepper and added those into the food processor bowl with a few shakes of sea salt and pepper, gave it a few pulses….and that was it!

