BLT Fettuccini

photo2

Yes, it’s been awhile. Life has definitely been hectic, and blogging certainly hasn’t been a focus lately. But…that doesn’t mean I’m not cooking! One of my favorite local recipe bloggers, Haley from Cheap Recipe Blog, recently posted a “Use What You Already Have” challenge, which inspired me to log back into my blog and see if I still remembered the password. Luckily, I did. And lucky for you, I’m sharing this super delish, super easy recipe that you really should try. Trust me on this one.

I picked this recipe for the challenge because it was the perfect example of “just-got-home-from-baseball-game-need-dinner-on the table-quickly-and-mom-forgot-to-defrost-something-to-cook” kind of thing. So….

I opened up the cupboard and pulled out a box of pasta, a lemon, some garlic, and a couple tomatoes. Then I grabbed a few slices of bacon from the fridge and a handful of basil from my garden and was ready to rock and roll.

photo1

And this is what I came up with…

BLT Fettuccini

1 12 oz. package fettuccini or spaghetti
2 roma tomatoes, diced
1 cup fresh basil, diced
4 slices bacon
1 lemon
1 clove garlic, pressed
1/8 cup olive oil
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
salt and pepper

Cook the pasta according to package directions. Fry bacon, set aside, and reserve a few tablespoons of bacon drippings. In a small saucepan, combine juice from lemon, olive oil, garlic, and bacon drippings, and simmer over medium heat. Drain pasta and combine with sauce, crumbled bacon, tomatoes, and basil. Season with salt and pepper. Top with shredded cheese and serve.

Tagged:

One thought on “BLT Fettuccini

  1. Haley July 21, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Awesome! I love BLT’s and I love pasta, so this just works out so well 🙂 Thanks so much for participating – I’ll let you know when my post goes live.

Comments are closed.