Blood Orange Smoothies

DSC_0026-005

With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, these smoothies scream “I BLOODY LOVE YOU!!!”.

Who wouldn’t want to wake up to this treat on Valentine’s morning?

I first encountered blood oranges while I was traveling through Italy during my semester abroad in college. The sweet, deep burgundy flesh was just so tasty! But, it wasn’t until years later that I began to see this fruit gain attention in the US. In fact, I was thrilled when I first saw the Blood Orange flavored Chobani come on the market last year, which, by the way, is my oldest son’s favorite Chobani flavor.

DSC_0012-008

So, yesterday, I picked up a bag of blood oranges at Target. I knew they wouldn’t last long, as my little blood orange fanatic went right to work peeling and chowing down on them. But, I managed to salvage a few to use in our “bloody” smoothie.

We served the smoothies with a batch of homemade cinnamon rolls. This time I chopped up an apple and added that to the cinnamon roll filling before rolling up….result: yuuummmm!!!

DSC_0001-009

Blood Orange Smoothies

1-2 medium blood oranges – peeled and seeds removed
1 cup frozen melon (or other frozen fruit, I used canteloupe)
1 container Chobani greek yogurt – blood orange flavor
1 cup ice cubes
2 cups orange juice

Whirl everything together in a blender and enjoy this version of “bloodies” for breakfast.

Tagged:

One thought on “Blood Orange Smoothies

  1. Holly@ClubThrifty January 23, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Looks yummy! I always see people using blood oranges on cooking shows. You are fancy =)

Comments are closed.