Garden Veggie Egg Salad

Here’s a fool-proof trick for hard-boiled eggs that are easy to peel. Before cooking, make a small hole in the broad end of the egg with a needle or a tack. (Learned the pinhole step from Mark Bittman in How to Cook Everything.) Place the eggs carefully into a pan of boiling water. Boil for 15 minutes, and then remove from heat.

Pour out the hot water and replace with cold water and ice cubes to form an ice bath. Wait 5 minutes. Drain water. Roll egg on table while applying gentle pressure to get the shell to crack around the middle. Once cracked, both ends of the shell with slide right off. Try it. Works every time!

So, what am I doing with my hard-boiled eggs? Well, today I’m making egg salad.

Who knew that carrots would make such a lovely addition to ordinary egg salad? Not only do they add a punch of color, but they also balance out the texture and boost the nutrition. My egg salad contains shredded organic carrots along with some Egyptian onions from my garden. Green onions work just fine, too.

For an even healthier version, you can cut down on the mayonnaise. Start with 1/4 cup, mix, then add a bit more if necessary until you get to the right consistency. I like my egg salad good and creamy, so I go full force with 1/2 a cup. Baby steps, right?

This will keep for a few days in the fridge and makes great weekday lunches; however, don’t make the sandwiches in advance. Store the egg salad in a seperate container and prepare sandwiches as you need them. I even take my bread to work seperately along with a side container of egg salad and prepare my sandwich right at lunchtime. Nobody likes a soggy sandwich.

Garden Veggie Egg Salad

6 hard-cooked eggs, chopped
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1 small onion, chopped
1/4 cup green onions

Mix all ingredients. Garnish with extra green onions. If you’re feeling sassy, add a pinch or two of dry mustard to give it that deviled egg spin!

