Lemon Zucchini Bundt Cake

20120725-085118.jpg
I got this recipe from a friend in Nebraska and knew right away that I had to try it. Only problem: I don’t own a bundt pan. That’s right, no bundt pan. And, did I mention I live in Minnesota, the land of Nordic Ware, the company that made bundt pans famous? So, off to Target I went to look for a bundt pan…and sure enough, they had a whole Nordic Ware section…I could barely control myself. My wallet is now $24.99 lighter, and I’m the proud owner of an original Nordic Ware bundt pan…guaranteed for 10 years…that’s a lot of cake in our future.
20120725-085133.jpg
This recipe originates from All Recipes. It’s actually a bar recipe, but I followed my friend’s suggestion and baked it in a bundt pan rather than a bar pan. I didn’t modify the recipe, but you could easily cut down on the sugar and oil and substitute some apple sauce.
20120725-085150.jpg
My zucchini plants have been flowering for the past few weeks, but so far, no zucchinis this year. Fortunately, I still had some frozen, shredded zucchini in our freezer from last year’s garden. Since the recipe calls for lemon, I decided to use a mix of both green and yellow zucchini to play up the yellow theme.
20120725-085158.jpgI sprayed the bundt pan lightly and added a dusting of flour before pouring in the batter. After baking for 40 minutes, I pulled the pan out of the oven, let it sit for 10 minutes to cool, and then flipped it over onto a platter. The cake slipped out perfectly. Added a dusting of powdered sugar and some flowers from our garden, and then we sliced it up. Moist, delicious, and the hint of lemon gives it a fresh, summery twist. It was a hit with the whole family, but was particularly a hit with my 8 year old, who told me that it rocks and that I can make this anytime. I might have to again soon…it’s already half gone.
20120725-085207.jpg

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Lemon Zucchini Bundt Cake

  1. avigail weiss July 27, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    where is the recipe?

  2. spinthemeal July 29, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Avigail – Just click on the link on the words “bar recipe” in my post, and it will take you to the recipe from Allrecipes.com.

  3. Laura August 1, 2012 at 11:21 am

    It is beautiful!

  4. Susan and Wade August 2, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    Try this one in your new pan – it’s perfect for this time of year with fresh blueberries. Hope you like it, as it is one of our favorites.
    http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/blueberry-pound-cake-10000000222283/

    Take care and happy cooking!

  5. Jessamine in PDX August 4, 2012 at 12:57 am

    That looks great — especially love it on the blue plate!

  6. Food Follower August 4, 2012 at 7:31 am

    I love how you added lemon zest. Looks delicious!

Comments are closed.