The Cake Slice: Lemon Velvet Squares

DSC_0019

Two things I know for sure:

One. Spring will come. Despite this brutal winter, before we know it, we’ll be sloughing off our layers and venturing outside. As the last of the melted snow drips off our south-facing deck, the cedar boards will again drink in the heat, creating a cocoon of sunny, radiant warmth around our deck chairs, our favorite backyard haven.

And, Two. Baking is most joyful when in the company of a little helper. This one in particular is my ever-curious, not afraid to get messy, culinary explorer. He helped me zest the lemons for this month’s cake. A fresh, fragrant lemon cake, evocative of Spring.

DSC_0002

The zest and juice of lemon and orange are incorporated in this cake, just enough to lend a hint of citrus flavor. I finished my cake with a thin veil of lemon glaze to punch up the lemon factor another notch, and in my opinion, it was necessary.

DSC_0003

The cake drew mixed reviews from the other bakers in our cake club. It was quite flat and was by no means a visual showstopper. Others that made the glaze, ran into the same issue as I did where the glaze would separate shortly after mixing. I almost scrapped it entirely but decided to use it despite the separation. But I thought the taste of the cake and glaze paired together made up for what the duo lacked in looks. My lemon-fanatic little helper concurred.

DSC_0008

If you’d like to give this one a try, check out Carole Walter’s Great Cakes cookbook, and if you missed what we’ve baked over the past few months in our Cake Slice baking club, here’s a quick rundown of the other monthly selections.

DSC_0013

January 2014 Cake: 18th Century Pound Cake
December 2013 Cake: Streusel Squares
November 2013 Cake: Applesauce Spice Cake

DSC_0018

Check out how the lemon velvet squares turned out for the other bakers in our club by clicking here:

Tagged: , ,

11 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: Lemon Velvet Squares

  1. Charisma February 20, 2014 at 6:56 am

    Mmm love lemon cake, this looks really nice and fluffy!

  2. madangel00 February 20, 2014 at 8:10 am

    the cake looks lovely! hope you enjoy it!

  3. Sweets. Eats. And Crafts February 20, 2014 at 11:41 am

    I love lemon desserts! These look so refreshing and tasty!

  4. theninjabaker February 20, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Strawberries and lemons go together oh so nicely. Lovely touch to a fantastic looking cake, Amy =) Stay warm…Spring has got to be right around the corner =)

  5. Melanie Stuff February 21, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Looks yummy with strawberries!

  6. Laura@Baking In Pyjamas February 21, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Sorry to hear you had trouble with your glaze, I used my own one for this bake. It looks lovely though, good job!

  7. ImWhisper February 21, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    Having a mini helper in the kitchen is always so fun!
    I had the same problem with the glaze but the cake really did need it. Love the slice with the strawberry on top. :)
    Holly

  8. Anabel Arias February 22, 2014 at 9:57 am

    I’m with you! Can’t wait for spring! But for now this cake did deliver that dose of freshness I so needed! I LOVE lemon desserts, this one hit the spot!

  9. Felice/All That's Left Are The Crumbs February 23, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    I bet this cake was even sweeter with the help you received – you are making wonderful memories, as well as a delicious cake.

  10. Paloma February 26, 2014 at 8:06 am

    It’s not fun when things don’t go exactly as planned… I am glad you still enjoyed this cake! I truly wouldn’t have really noticed the issue with the glaze until you mentioned it… The strawberry adds a beautiful touch! Great job.

  11. EmilyC February 26, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    Great to have company in the kitchen, especially little ones! precious memories in the making. Love that last picture!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.