The Cake Slice: 18th Century Pound Cake

DSC_0206
A half dozen eggs and a couple sticks of butter. That’s the base of our January cake. New Year’s Resolutions be damned. Queue the Van Halen. This month we’re baking pound cake.
DSC_0144
It took me a while to get around to making this month’s cake. After several weeks of holiday feasting with friends, family, and coworkers, the idea of baking a heavy, calorie-packed pound cake wasn’t top on my list. It’s particularly difficult since we’ve vowed to up the ante further this new year by focusing on eating even healthier than last year….but, as they say all things in moderation.
DSC_0152
Fortunately, the opportunity presented itself to bake this cake when the temperature plummeted to negative daily highs for three consecutive days. We had played every card game and board game in the house and we were all getting a bit stir crazy. I find that baking is the perfect temporary escape from cabin fever. As I set out the ingredients and gave the recipe a quick read, the temperature was a frosty -8 below and the local weatherman was announcing on the news that the high for the following day would only reach -15 degrees with dangerous wind chills approaching -50 below. Good thing I had everything I needed on hand. Schools were closed for two days straight, and the state was in full hibernation mode. Unprecedented cold – even for us hearty Minnesotans.
DSC_0156
I followed Carole Walter’s recipe for 18th Century Pound Cake exactly as written in her cookbook, Great Cakes. This is my third cake as a member of the Cake Slice, an online baking club. Each month we collectively select a new cake to bake from Great Cakes. Back in November, we baked Applesauce Spice Cake, and in December, we baked Streusel Squares.
DSC_0157
So far, I haven’t stumbled upon a killer cake yet, but I can honestly say that I’ve learned a lot in the past few months, which was the whole point of joining this club. In the past, my baking mantra was always “throw in all the wet ingredients…mix…throw in all the dry ingredients…mix again…bake.” While I’m still a novice, I hope to gain a better appreciation for how the end result is impacted by making sure eggs are at room temperature or butter is whipped to the proper consistency….I’m just not there yet….but I’m confident it will come given time, experience, and the nine more months of cakes in my future.
DSC_0173

Things I Learned This Month:

1. Parchment paper rocks: The cake slid right out of the pan.
2. Why it’s called pound cake: This dense sucker literally weighed several pounds!
3. Endless serving possibilities: Sliced with whipped cream, strawberries, and a drizzle of honey or balsamic. Cubed with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and warm blueberry sauce. Battered and fried French toast-style….yum.

Pick up a copy of Carole Walter’s Great Cakes if you’d like to give this, or any of the other monthly cake recipes, a try. And, check out how my fellow baking club members’ pound cakes turned out by clicking on this link:

Oh, and one more thing, if you’re resolving to eat healthier this year too (amid the irony of this cake post), here are a few tips: 6 Ways to Eat Healthier in the New Year

Tagged: ,

15 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: 18th Century Pound Cake

  1. Anabel January 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    Your cake baked up beautiful! I love how it cracked right down the middle! The fruit topping looks mouthwatering too!

  2. theninjabaker January 20, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    Your cake looks perfect, Amy. Parchment paper is indeed a gift from the cooking gods. And, glad you got a bit of adventure in the kitchen whilst the winds were blowing outside =)

  3. Emily January 20, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    I went the butter n flour way and the cakes popped out without a worry! I think my cake was moist enough (due to the ginger bits) to say that its ain’t dry! haha if you know what I mean!

  4. Hazel January 21, 2014 at 3:29 am

    This looks AH-MA-ZING Amy.. well done you! Hazel x

  5. Laura@Baking In Pyjamas January 21, 2014 at 4:26 am

    Great job, it looks great! Hope it’s warming up for there now.

  6. madangel00 January 21, 2014 at 5:15 am

    wow! blue berries one of my favourite!

  7. Heather January 21, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Your cake looks wonderful. I love parchment paper too.

  8. Felice/All That's Left Are The Crumbs January 21, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Mine cracked exactly the same way yours did, and I used it as a catchment for the limoncello glaze :). I love how you served your cake.

  9. Sonya January 22, 2014 at 2:26 am

    Love the look of your cake..hopefully next month the cake will knock our socks off!

  10. Paloma January 22, 2014 at 10:05 am

    Oh my goodness! I sooo love your attitude! Yes… we all learn great stuff while baking through our books! Both things we should do and things we shouldn’t do! I’d love to have your collaboration for our FB page if you’d like…. I’ll be e-mailing you about it :) Thanks for keeping an optimistic point of view while going through this book that has proven to be a bit “harder” to go through… not because of the level of difficulty but because we haven’t yet found an amazing cake in it… Hang in there :)

  11. Melanie Stuff January 22, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    Looks VERY good!

  12. becca-cookie jar treats January 23, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Your cake looks awesome! I love it when pound cake cracks open on top like that. So glad you are learning new things too. I’ve been baking for about 3 years now and I still love learning new techniques. :)

  13. ImWhisper January 28, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    -50 Oh heck that is crazy! It gets to 50 here (in SoCal) and people start whining!
    Your cake looks so inviting!
    Fingers crossed for next month’s cake. :)
    Holly

  14. Diana Gale January 31, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    I love your cake, and I love your pictures!!! Have so much to learn from you!!

  15. […] 2014 Cake: 18th Century Pound Cake December 2013 Cake: Streusel Squares November 2013 Cake: Applesauce Spice […]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers