The Cake Slice: Applesauce Spice Cake

DSC_0049-004

And so it begins…

DSC_0015-007

Last month I mentioned that I’ve joined a secret cake baking club called The Cake Slice Bakers. Little did I know then how much fun this would be…

DSC_0018-001

In the last month, I’ve gotten aquainted with some fabulous, friendly ladies that share the same passion that I have for baking, and I’ve conquered my fear of trying a recipe that is two pages long, loaded with ingredients, and has no picture whatsoever to give you any inkling of what the final product is supposed to look like. But let me back up…

DSC_0020-002

DSC_0048-003

Every twelve months, the Cake Slice Bakers group selects a cookbook to bake from for the upcoming year. This month is the beginning of the new baking year, and the book that has been selected is Great Cakes by Carole Walter. As soon as I learned of this year’s selection, I placed an order with Amazon, and waited impatiently for it to arrive.

great cakes

But when it did…well…I have to admit at first I was a little disappointed. It was a hulking, thick, intimidating volume with…….no pictures.

Well, actually, there are a few pictures in the middle…I’d say about 6 pictures in a cookbook filled with over 250 recipes. Yikes.

DSC_0043-006

Knowing this was WAY out of my baking comfort zone, I gave it some thought, realized this was EXACTLY why I had decided to join this group in the first place, made the best of it, and pressed on by baking the first month’s recipe: Applesauce Spice Cake.

DSC_0040-006

Immediately, I had a dilemma. The recipe called for a 10 cup fluted tube pan. Now, most of the bakers in this club would have went to their cupboard, pulled out their fluted tube pan, and baked the cake. I, on the other hand, had two pans (a bundt pan and an angel food cake pan) and no idea which one to use. Googling “fluted tube pan” produced pictures of both – bundt pans and angel food pans. *** This is exactly where the picture would have helped. ***

I made a command decision and chose the bundt pan – which in the end worked out just fine.

DSC_0034-006

So anyway…about the cake. The recipe was fairly long and required several precise steps and plenty of time; however, the steps were pretty straightforward to execute. The main ingredients included diced Granny Smith apple, lemon zest, allspice, nutmeg, pecans. I left out the nuts because of my son’s allergy, but I followed the rest of the instructions as written.

The highlight of the cake was the caramel glaze. It was AMAZING! So amazing, in fact, that I scraped out the last little bit from the pan and used it to frost some homemade cinnamon rolls I had prepped for the next morning’s breakfast. Then I licked the spatula…ferociously.

DSC_0031-004

And so, one cake down, eleven more to go on the first year of this adventure. Permission from the cookbook author to reprint her recipes is still pending, so for now, please enjoy the pictures!

Also, check out what the other fab Cake Slice Bakers made:

Tagged: , ,

26 thoughts on “The Cake Slice: Applesauce Spice Cake

  1. Laura@ Baking In Pyjamas November 20, 2013 at 7:42 am

    Glad to have you joining the group. I’m glad you enjoyed the cake, it looks lovely.

  2. Paloma November 20, 2013 at 8:28 am

    Ok… have been trying to leave a comment several times… let’s see if this one works… Hopefully I haven’t filled your post with my comments already… anyway… I was just saying that I am very happy you enjoyed our first cake together! Looking forward to baking with you many more! Beautiful pictures too! Perfect setting for this cake.

  3. spinthemeal November 20, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Thanks Laura! It’s been a lot of fun getting to know the other bakers!

  4. spinthemeal November 20, 2013 at 8:44 am

    Thanks for your persistence, Paloma! I’ll have to see if I can fine tune the comment function to make it a bit easier. So happy to be baking with you and the rest of the Cake Slicers!!!

  5. Sandra Garth November 20, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Your pictures are amazing and it’s a pleasure to bake with you!

  6. spinthemeal November 20, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks Sandra! Looking forward to baking with you!

  7. ImWhisper November 20, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    And you survived making your first cake with the group wonderfully!

    You cake looks so yummy!
    :)
    Holly

  8. spinthemeal November 20, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    You’ve got that right, Holly! Thanks for visiting my blog!

  9. theninjabaker November 20, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Your photos are fantabulous, Amy! Oh! And your cake – in bundt form – looks pretty darn beautiful, too =) That caramely brown glaze is divine.

  10. spinthemeal November 20, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks Kim! Can’t wait to see what our creations for next month look like!

  11. EmilyC November 20, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Love the word ‘Fantabulous’ – which is exactly correct to describe your post!! Great baking along with you!

  12. Anne@FromMySweetHeart November 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    Hi Amy and welcome to the Cake Slice! And what a great start you’ve had! Your cake is absolutely beautiful! I agree with you about the book….lots of volume….only 6 photos….yikes! But you rose to the challenge….your cake looks amazing! Looking forward to more baking adventures together! : )

  13. Anabel November 20, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    Amy, Welcome to our baking group! I already can tell from your first post that I’m definitely going to enjoy your future posts! What lovely pictures!

  14. Maranda November 21, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Great job on the cake! It looks beautiful. I was disappointed in the lack of pictures in the book as well but since it’s an older book (newer version) I guess it’s to be expected.

  15. spinthemeal November 21, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks Anne!

  16. spinthemeal November 21, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks for checking out my blog, Anabel!

  17. spinthemeal November 21, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Thanks Maranda! Looking forward to baking with you!

  18. Diana Gale November 22, 2013 at 6:10 am

    Nice cake Amy!!! I also felt a bit lost without pictures to help me out but I guess it will force us to be more creative? :)

  19. Heather November 22, 2013 at 7:44 am

    I have both pans too, and as a rule I never grease the other as it never really will come out and then my angel food cake would not rise properly. Your cake looks great and welcome!

  20. spinthemeal November 22, 2013 at 9:27 am

    Thanks for visiting my site, Diana!

  21. spinthemeal November 22, 2013 at 9:29 am

    I agree, Heather. I would probably just rely on the pan being non-stick next time and just give it a quick spray rather than buttering and flouring.

  22. Becca at Cookie Jar Treats November 22, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Your photos are so pretty and just… I don’t know how to describe them. It looks like something that could come out of an old edition of a cooking magazine showing a pie cooling off in the windowsill. That is the kind of vibe I get from these photos. :) And that glaze does look to die for!

  23. Felice/All That's Left Are The Crumbs November 22, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    I am so glad to be baking along with you. Your photos are just beautiful and definitely show off your cake wonderfully. Our new book is huge isn’t it? I look at it and think that a book like this would probably have trouble being published these days, due to the lack of photos. However, on the good side we get to be creative when it comes to showing off our cakes to their best advantage, with no preconceived ideas. And the author, Carole Walter, knows her stuff.

  24. Kathia Castro November 22, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Hello Amy, I love your cake… and the pictures, your glaze looks delicious, mine turned out so pale.

  25. Hazel @Cupcakerys November 23, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    Hello Amy and welcome to the group! by the looks of it a great cake for you to start out with! ! never worry about pans… the group are always there to help out with those little things and remember you decide the finish so if you don’t have a pan… use what you got!! Happy Baking! Hazel x

  26. graceakaclouds November 25, 2013 at 1:20 am

    Amy, welcome to the Cake Slice!! Indeed, you are not alone when you say that the book is not really visually appealing but then again, it’s not an issue since we will create our own pictures with this book ;) Although I’m not a fan of frostings or icings, I must say that I pretty much love your caramel frosting. It looks so inviting!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers